ICC T20 World Cup 2020, FTP (Future Tour Programs) & More

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has taken one more month to settle the fate of the ICC T20 World Cup 2020. So, the planning is still on to conduct these tournaments according to the schedule.

There was an ICC board meeting last Wednesday (10th June), where the primary target was to take any final call on the fate of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020.The board was basically slated to decide the tournament’s conduct as well as plan a road-map for cricket’s return from the Coronavirus-enforced pause on May 28, before putting off the topic by a couple of weeks under bizarre conditions.

Which country is hosting the ICC T20 World Cup 2020?

Australia is going to host the seventh edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup from 18th October to 15th November 2020. However, the novel COVID-19 or coronavirus, which is still dominating the world, has opened the uncertain fate of these upcoming global tournaments.

What else is essential to the ICC T20 World Cup 2020decision?

If the T20 World Cup is not played, it gives a window for all the teams to play respective series. Most importantly, it is just the window that BCCI would like to host an IPL this year. Also, it permits for the Asia Cup to be conducted in late September.

What about the ICC Chairman’s post?

With the current ICC Chairman Shashank Manohar deciding toward contesting for another tenure, England’s Colin Graves remains to be the frontrunner in the race as BCCI strives to find the appropriate candidate and anticipates the election process to be drawn.

However, amidst all that, Pakistan’s Ehsan Mani, who has earlier served as the ICC President from 2003 to 2006, has entered the conflict. With the associates looking for an alternative beyond Graves, Imran Khawaja, and a BCCI candidate, Mani could find some assistance.

List of the teams playing the ICC T20 World Cup 2020

There will be total 45 matches played between 8 teams. The teams are as follow:

  1. Australia
  2. New Zealand
  3. Pakistan
  4. West Indies
  5. Afghanistan
  6. England
  7. India
  8. South Africa
  9. Sri Lanka
  10. Ireland
  11. Papua New Guinea
  12. Oman
  13. Netherlands
  14. Scotland
  15. Namibia
  16. Bangladesh

What is the current schedule of ICC T20 World Cup 2020?

The tournament of ICC T20 World Cup is expected to be commenced on 18 October 2020 till 15 November 2020. Meanwhile, following the current global crisis, many former cricketers and experts think that the schedule of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 should be shifted. They believe that it is not the right time to play a tournament with 16 teams, who have already achieved their spots for this tournament.

To stay updated with the latest happenings and news, subscribe to our Newsletter today. Kindly share your views and comments too.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment